What's new
Apple iPad Forum

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What version is my ipad

wullie1967

iPF Noob
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
51
Reaction score
0
Read people on here saying is your iPad AT&T version or a Verizon one what does this mean and how do you check
 

giradman

iPad Fan
Joined
Apr 26, 2011
Messages
7,813
Reaction score
7,940
Location
North Carolina
Not sure which iPad you own (1 or 2?), but do you have a machine w/ a SIM slot (like the pic below; located upper left side when viewing the front of the iPad); with the proper card inserted/purchased and a 3G plan, your iPad can connect via cellular wireless technology; AT&T and Verizon are 2 companies that offer these plans and the appropriate SIM card.

Thus, if the slot shown and described is not on your iPad, then you have neither cellular option - hope this helps - :)

P.S. Also, 'Cellular Data' should be an available option to setup from the 'Settings' menu.

225805-apple-ipad-wi-fi-3g-sim-slot.jpg
 
OP
wullie1967

wullie1967

iPF Noob
Joined
Nov 4, 2011
Messages
51
Reaction score
0
giradman said:
Not sure which iPad you own (1 or 2?), but do you have a machine w/ a SIM slot (like the pic below; located upper left side when viewing the front of the iPad); with the proper card inserted/purchased and a 3G plan, your iPad can connect via cellular wireless technology; AT&T and Verizon are 2 companies that offer these plans and the appropriate SIM card.

Thus, if the slot shown and described is not on your iPad, then you have neither cellular option - hope this helps - :)

P.S. Also, 'Cellular Data' should be an available option to setup from the 'Settings' menu.

<img src="http://www.ipadforums.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=6992"/>

Yes I have the slot for 3G but wanted to no what AT&T was or verizon,and I also don't no if mine is locked to a network or not as I want to buy a microsim for 3G but don't no wat network it's on,so if I buy a Vodafone it may not work
 

Kaykaykay

iPF Noob
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
6,970
Reaction score
446
The Verizon iPad has no slot for a SIM card; the AT&T iPad has a SIM card slot. The AT&T iPad is GSM, is unlocked and can take other SIM cards, including ones from other countries. The Verizon iPad is CDMA and is not compatible with carriers in many countries.
 
Last edited:

DefBref

iPF Noob
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
978
Reaction score
53
Location
Egremont
Website
mobro.co
@wullie1967, which country did you buy it in, if it was anywhere other than the USA , then you have no need to worry as the CDMA Ipad (the verizon one) is only available in the states.
 
Last edited:

richsadams

iPF Noob
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
3,500
Reaction score
99
Location
NW Left Coast
@wullie1967, which country did you buy it in, if it was anywhere other than the USA , then you have no need to worry as the CDMA (the verizon one) is only available in the states.
CDMA is available in some 40+ countries.

List of Cdma Mobile Operators,Carriers and Networks By Country- Africa,Europe,Canada,USA,Asia,Latin America,Canada,United States and the Carribean

EDIT: I see that you meant that the Verizon iPad (CDMA) is only available in the U.S. It is possible to use a Verizon iPad in countries having carriers that support CDMA:

Answers to FAQs
 
Last edited:

DefBref

iPF Noob
Joined
Apr 14, 2011
Messages
978
Reaction score
53
Location
Egremont
Website
mobro.co
Edited my post to make it clearer, I meant the CDMA ipad was only available in the USA, not CDMA in general.

I'm sure with the ipad 3 they'll make it worldwide compatible, like the iphone 4s, which has both GSM and CDMA.
 

richsadams

iPF Noob
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
3,500
Reaction score
99
Location
NW Left Coast
Edited my post to make it clearer, I meant the CDMA ipad was only available in the USA, not CDMA in general.

I'm sure with the ipad 3 they'll make it worldwide compatible, like the iphone 4s, which has both GSM and CDMA.
Agreed, I would fully expect a CDMA/GSM compatible iPad 3...same technology as the iPhone 4S, so no reason not to employ it.
 

tlbaker

iPF Novice
Joined
Aug 23, 2011
Messages
2,484
Reaction score
112
wullie1967 said:
Read people on here saying is your iPad AT&T version or a Verizon one what does this mean and how do you check

Did you get your iPad as a gift?

Sent from my Verizon Black 64GB iPad 2 IOS 5.0.1 Update using iPF
 

alvano

iPF Noob
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
LA
yes this is a good idea, of new features for ipad 3. GSM/CDMA badly needed along,
 

holy2411

iPF Noob
Joined
Mar 17, 2012
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Your current version is displayed in Settings > General > About on the iPad, or you can see it on the device's summary tab when connected to your computer's iTunes - you can also check for updates from there which should find if there is a more up-to-date version available (the latest version is 4.3.2)
 

Most reactions

Latest posts

Top