What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Registering a new ipad 2.... w a different name from the itunes account?

lizc

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi,

Am at the moment, still a complete noob at this. Just got my new ipad 2 and... I've already to sync-ed it with my bf's itunes... but I haven't registered my ipad yet?

For now it recognizes it as his ipad... Is there any way that we share his apple itunes account (for all the apps bought together) but I register the ipad under my name? cos it requests for an apple id...

I was wondering how families handle this? Like say if they get 4 different devices ipod, iphone, ipad, etc to different people... will it all say that it's registered to the same person as whoever owns the itunes account (eg. Dad)?

Been scouring the net for a bit, but maybe I'm not using the right search words??

Again, the question is:

Can I register the iPad under my name but use my bf's itunes account? Or will apple automatically assume that the ipad belongs to him since it's his itunes account? And is there any way for me to put my name there BUT use his account anyways (since we're sharing the cost of getting the apps anyways)

Any help is very much appreciated =) Thanx!

-Apple noob (for now, at least ;P)

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
No, you have to use the Apple ID if you want to keep using the same apps without paying. However, this is only true of the various stores (iTunes, iBooks, App Store). You can use separate iCloud accounts (iOS 5 only) to keep your personal info seperate, and of course you can enter any separate email accounts you like.