What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New File

SgtBob

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm a novice with the iPAD so I need some basic advice.

How does one move/copy/insert a file from my iMAC to the iPAD? I have a file on my iMAC consisting of a number of work items (letters, etc)in a file called My Work, so how do I get My Work into the iPAD

Bob

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
You don't just move folders to the iPad. There is no general file space that can be accessed by apps (with a few exceptions).

Instead you copy the files to the apps that support that file type. The exact method varies from app to app, but the most common methods involve emailing the file you yourself, using DropBox on both the computer and iPad, iCloud (if the app supports it), and direct wi-fi access from within the app.

So, your first step is to decide what app on the iPad you want the files in and then getting that app installed (if it is not already).

Now, I said that you can't just copy My Work to the iPad, and that is technically true, but there are ways to make those files available on the iPad through other apps.

I've already mentioned DropBox. With this app you can have a folder on your computer that is automatically synced/available on the iPad. These files are online, not local, unless you favorite them. DropBox can read some of these files, but it will not do much more. If you need to do work on a file you will still have to copy the file to a compatible app using the DropBox app. DropBox is not the only service you can use this way. Box.com and Google Drive are also used this way by many members.