What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Keyboards and other writing questions

FacePoppies

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Okay, so my iPad 2 is on the way, and it's really my first experience with an Apple product other than my ipod.

I'm a writer, and I'm hoping to use my iPad 2 to do some writing alongside all of the other fun. Is the touch screen keyboard good for writing?

If not, is there a recommended keyboard? I saw that new Zagg keyboard case, but I couldn't get a good look at the keyboard layout from the images on amazon. Also, the keyboard is bluetooth. Does that mean that it uses batteries that you have to replace and/or charge separately from the iPad 2?

And, last question (I promise!), is there some professional quality writing software for iPad that can save in .doc format? Like a Word clone or something?

Thanks!

Tim SPRACKLEN

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Okay, so my iPad 2 is on the way, and it's really my first experience with an Apple product other than my ipod.

I'm a writer, and I'm hoping to use my iPad 2 to do some writing alongside all of the other fun. Is the touch screen keyboard good for writing?

If not, is there a recommended keyboard? I saw that new Zagg keyboard case, but I couldn't get a good look at the keyboard layout from the images on amazon. Also, the keyboard is bluetooth. Does that mean that it uses batteries that you have to replace and/or charge separately from the iPad 2?

And, last question (I promise!), is there some professional quality writing software for iPad that can save in .doc format? Like a Word clone or something?

Thanks!