What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ITunes Sync

rwsinky

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I have updated our phones to IPhone 12's and IPad's as well. Did the whole transfer thing and all seemed to go very well. One small glitch I have discovered is that when transfering music from Itunes the IPhones got all of ot but the IPads came up short and I do not know why. I attached them to my PC and did the whole sync thing and it made no real difference. I am not a real techie but is it possible the songs/albums that show on the PC with the ICloud symbol do not sync? If I look at songs on my IPad all have the down arrow symbol and I do not see any ICloud symbols. Anyone know what is going on here>

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
The little down arrow means the song is currently downloaded, stored on your device. There used to be a cloud icon, for when music was not local. Now it seems the arrow indicates the opposite. At leas on iOS and iPadOS. PC iTunes may still use the cloud. I don’t know.

Compare Settings > Music on your iPads and iPhones. Pay close attention to the Optimize settings, When turned on it will remove less played music local so that it only downloads on demand. How much music is kept on device depends on how much storage that device has available. A 256 GB iPhone with 150 GB free will keep considerably more music locally than a 128 GB iPad with 32 GB free.

I have Optimize turned off on my iPad Pro, and every song I’ve manually downloaded is there local. I have it turned off on the iPad Mini (way less storage) and almost nothing is stored local.