What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is There Any Such Thing As a Universal Reader?

adavis

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm new to this e-reader business and was excited about it when I started but have discovered something I don't like. I started a series of 18 books in iBooks and then discovered that Apple doesn't have one book in the series. Barnes and Noble did have the missing book so I got it from them but I can't open it in iBooks. I complained to B&N about it and was told I would have to use nook to read it. If I have to arrange books by where I bought them rather than by author I'm thinking e-books are not for me and i'll be better off sticking with paper.

emm

iPF Noob
Reaction score
You might have to chalk this one up to the learning process. IBooks is the worst reading app in terms of book availability. Download the Kindle app which has the best selection. Then you can keep most of your books in that app.

thewitt

iPF Novice
Reaction score
No such thing as a universal reader...

Much like the early Sony Betamax VS VHS video tape wars, everyone believes their proprietary eBook format is best...

There are a few open standard formats like ePub that should win out in the end, though there will always be holdouts.

Believe it or not, most eBook readers are currently supporting many formats. I think Kindle supports more than a dozen - though not ePub. They just add their own variation or proprietary format to the ones they do support.