What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ipad Magazine

dalehitchy

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Im pretty good with making magazines..... i'm a journalist and quite handy with indesign.

I really want to make a magazine and have been looking at the addons for indesign such as Woodwing, aswell as QuarkXpress. Im awful with coding though.

I was amazed when i saw these software packages. I thought i'd finally be able to start off on my own. They offer rich designs techniques implemented into a magazine, such as videos and animations.

Then i saw the price, you pay hundreds of £££ $$$ per magazine you publish, and around 30p per magazine you actually sell. On top of that software and license runs into its hundreds. By the time you actually finish, your gonna be paying around £4000. What a joke....

Is there any other software that isn't made to make the rich richer, and give us regular joes a go?

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Most likely those that have read your post don't have an answer, and an endless string of no posts would be kind of pointless.

I know Adobe is in the process of creating something along this line. They've been working with Wired. I have no idea of what the costs involved are, but I suspect they are also catering to big companies.

The only thing I can think of is for you to create a web app, and then create a specialized browser app for it, so that you can make sure iOS devices know about you more than for access.

Other than that, I'd have to do a lot of research, and I'm sure you are a better judge of what you need than I am.

Tim SPRACKLEN

iPF Noob
Reaction score