What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help with numbers!!!

RickH

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I am putting together a spreadsheet using numbers on my very first ipad (2) EVER! I have been using Microsoft FOREVER (first time with a MAC of any kind). This one equation is KILLING ME. Here is what I am trying to do.

I am a personal trainer and I track peoples weight. So, I have a column of cells that reflects the changes in their weight going from top to bottom. At the very bottom I have a cell that I want to show the "last number in the series of those weigh ins" i.e. each time I add a weight in an empty cell (of the progression) I want it to show up in that bottom cell. If you need a photo image I will be happy to send one. That's all. Very simple. The excel formula is using LOOKUP and a series of symbols and row/cell locations and works perfect. I feel like LOOKUP is what I want but what in the world do I use when all I have to work with is tabs that say "Search for" "search where" and "result-values". PLEASE help! I know there is a formula to do this. Thanks

Rick

Last edited:

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Ok, I still don't understand most of how this works, but the OS X version of Numbers has a weight tracking template that does what you want. I exported it to the iPad, and the formula still worked. If you look over the formula they use maybe you can tweak it to work on your spreadsheet.

Here's a link to download the file: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17742163/weight.numbers

jakerich

iPF Noob
Reaction score