What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Deleting doesn't free up space.

babbler

iPF Noob
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
I just deleted at least half the books from my OverDrive app. However, the deletions do not return my total free space to a larger number. This happens with my magazine app, Zinio, as well. What am I doing wrong?
 

J. A.

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
22,492
Reaction score
15,897
Location
Apetlon, Austria
Maybe it needs a gentle "push" to show the correct numbers. Try resetting your iPad: press and hold Home and Power button simultaneously until you see the Apple logo. As soon as it appears, let go of both. The iPad will power up on it's own.

Removing the apps, and reinstalling might help as well.
 
OP
B

babbler

iPF Noob
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Thanks for your input, but I have tried resetting and it didn't help. If I remove the app in order to reinstall it, will I not lose all the books that are installed on my iPad?
 

scifan57

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
32,027
Reaction score
14,428
Location
Regina,Canada
Thanks for your input, but I have tried resetting and it didn't help. If I remove the app in order to reinstall it, will I not lose all the books that are installed on my iPad?
You'd have to re-download the books after re-installing the app.
 
OP
B

babbler

iPF Noob
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
That's some pretty awful designing to have to go through so much trouble. Would that be Apple's bad designing or the OverDrive ebook reader's poor designing?
 

scifan57

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
32,027
Reaction score
14,428
Location
Regina,Canada
That's the way all apps are designed. When you delete the app, all it's data is deleted.
 

Most reactions

Latest posts

Top