used ipad 2 3g+Wifi question

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by gator99, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. gator99

    gator99
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello - just curious, I was offered a used ipad 2 (w/ 3g & Wifi) and don't care about the 3g at this time. Can I use it for only Wifi? Or will it ask for a SIM (ATT) all the time.

    Thanks
     
  2. f4780y

    f4780y
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,114
    Thanks Received:
    648
    You do not need to use the 3G capability. Put it in airplane mode and it won't bug you for a SIM.
     
  3. gator99

    gator99
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    outstanding - thank
     
  4. Mountainbikermark

    Mountainbikermark
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,393
    Thanks Received:
    6
    You don't even need airplane mode. Just turn 3g off is what I did

    Support Our Troops!!
    This post was Tapatalk approved. Sent from an Incredible phone
     
  5. jsh1120

    jsh1120
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,292
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Better answer. Putting the iPad in airplane mode has a number of undesirable consequences if you try to use it.
     
  6. f4780y

    f4780y
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,114
    Thanks Received:
    648
    I thought you got bugged for a SIM card with just 3G off?
    Also, what are the undesirable consequences? I run my 3G like this at home all the time and haven't noticed anything undesirable. Would be good to know.
     
  7. f4780y

    f4780y
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,114
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Did just try it out, and it will complain about no SIM card unless you put it in Ariplane mode. 3G being off still makes the prompt. Since this was related to the OP's original question... :) :smug

    Still interested to hear the undesirable consequences of Airplane. Since Airplane can be on with WiFi, Bluetooth, and Location Services all on, I just can't see any for an iPad 3G which does not have a SIM installed. Maybe I'm being thick?
     
  8. Kaykaykay

    Kaykaykay
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,971
    Thanks Received:
    445
    I turn off 3G and don't get bugged for no SIM card. The only time I'm bugged for no SIM is when I've got 3G on and there actually is no SIM card in my iPad.

    Both my AT&T iPad 1 and 2 work that way. I have no SIM in one at all times, because I flop my unlimited data SIM between the two of them.
     
  9. cmerun15

    cmerun15
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So can you take your sim card from iPhone which has unlimited data and put it in the iPad? And do you still need to sign up for monthly charges? Thanks
     
  10. Kaykaykay

    Kaykaykay
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,971
    Thanks Received:
    445
    No, you misread. I switch my SIM card between my iPad 1 and 2.

    I also have an iPhone, but have never removed its SIM card (except when overseas, when I use local SIM cards).
     
    #10 Kaykaykay, Jul 6, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2011

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
can a ipad 2 with wifi only have a sims card put in it
,
can i put a used ipad with 3g with att
,
can ipad 2 with wifi 3g be used with out the 3g
,

how to setup a used ipad2

,
ipad 2 3g can be used just on wifi