What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Updated to ios9 and lost iBook dictionary

scifan57

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
If it was a dictionary you purchased or downloaded in iBooks, it should still be in your purchase history. You can re-download it from there.

OP
T

Tallman6

iPF Noob
Reaction score
If it was a dictionary you purchased or downloaded in iBooks, it should still be in your purchase history. You can re-download it from there.
I have not purchased anything so I don't know where my history would be. I am a novice iPad user.

J. A.

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
There's a Purchased tab in iBooks:
image.png
If you downloaded a free dictionary, you'll find it ther as well.

If you were using the feature in iBooks:

When you open a book or PDF file, and tap and hold on one of the words, you'll get a popup:
image.png
Select "Define" to see the definitinons in the available dictionaries:
image.png
To download additional dictionaries, select "Manage":
image.png
Those with a cloud next to them are available for download.

Hope that helps.

Last edited:
OP
T

Tallman6

iPF Noob
Reaction score
There's a Purchased tab in iBooks:
View attachment 67666
If you downloaded a free dictionary, you'll find it ther as well.

If you were using the feature in iBooks:

When you open a book or PDF file, and tap and hold on one of the words, you'll get a popup:
View attachment 67667
Select "Define" to see the definitinons in the available dictionaries:
View attachment 67668
To download additional dictionaries, select "Manage":
View attachment 67669
Those with a cloud next to them are available for download.

Hope that helps.