Photos

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by dglas, Nov 9, 2011.

  1. dglas

    dglas iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am new to ipad. I have uploaded photos via itunes. I have them in folders. It now appears if I want to add photos to a particular folder I must re-sync the entire group of folders or else they will all dissapear except for the folder where the photo was added. Seems cumbersome with a thousand photos. Same problem to delete one photo from ipad. It appears that the only way this can be done is to delete the photo on the computer and re-sync the remaining 1000 photos.

    I must be missing something--- at least I hope so.

    Doug
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2011
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Have you upgraded to iOS5 yet? The whole process is a whole load simpler under the new operating system.

    Tim
     
  3. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,280
    Thanks Received:
    2,470
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,026 / 1
    iTunes is not simply copying the folders, though the first time you sync it will, of course. After the initial sync iTunes will only make the changes on the iPad that you make to the folders and/or sync settings in iTunes. It does not need to copy all the pictures each time.

    • If you delete a picture, it will delete that picture.
    • If you add a picture to a folder, it will add that picture to the corresponding album.
    • If you add a new folder to sync, it will create and add a new album.
    • If you deselect (uncheck) or delete a folder, it will remove that album.
    • If you turn off syncing, it will remove all the synced albums.

    In short, the iPad mirrors the folder and/or subfolders that you select to sync in iTunes. It does so intelligently, only deleting and copying what it needs to, to make those changes.

    BTW, that means you should never use the iPad as a backup for your pictures. Besides being extremely easy to erase them from the iPad when syncing (either by accident or because you decide to use a new computer), iTunes optimizes the photos. That means the photos on the iPad are seldom the same quality as the originals on the computer.
     
  4. dglas

    dglas iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
     
  5. halewilson

    halewilson iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Upgrading OS will sove the problem.
     
  6. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,280
    Thanks Received:
    2,470
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,026 / 1
    No problem.
     

Share This Page