Optimized Handbrake Presets to Encode Video for Your New iPad or iPhone 4

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by y2kgtp, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. y2kgtp

    y2kgtp iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2010
  2. iPadCharlie

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,231
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    I have only done one movie (so far!) with Handbrake and used the mp4 hi-res option and it worked great! I know you're dying to know.... it was "Hunt for Red October"

    Captain Marco Ramius (Sean Connery) to Jack Ryan (Alec Baldwin):
    "Hey Ryan, be careful what you shoot at. Most things in here don't react to well to bullets!"
     
  3. TJK

    TJK Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As I have posted elsewhere in these forums, I have used the PLIST files downloaded here for great results on iPad:
    How to Create iPad Formatted Videos Using HandBrake or FFMpeg

    I have encoded about 8 movies using the IPAD FULL file.
    Finished movies are about 1.5GB +/- depending on movie length.

    Don't worry about the 4:3 formatting notes. Widescreen movies play with banding top and bottom just like the source DVD.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 24, 2010
  4. King Hal

    King Hal iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Just what I've been waiting for.

    Thanks guys
     
  5. iPadCharlie

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,231
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Sounds like the same format as hi-res. HFRO was 1.57gb and it is something like 135 minutes.
     
  6. TJK

    TJK Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Could be. All I know is that I struggled to get results until I found that link and everything worked like a charm. FYI I don't use handbrake to rip, though. I use DVD Decrypter to rip and use Handbrake only for encoding.
     
  7. iPadCharlie

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,231
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Very important step! You can encode to mp4 directly from DVD... if you have a lot of time!
     
  8. TJK

    TJK Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Exactly. DVD Decrypter rips a DVD in about 10 minutes. So I rip the DVDs and then set up a batch process with Handbrake to encode overnight.
     
  9. daltonbaker

    daltonbaker iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The same experience, Takes a long time on my iMac though (avg 5 hours per 1.5 hour movie).
     
  10. y2kgtp

    y2kgtp iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Are you ripping straight from a DVD, or a Divx encoded AVI perhaps? Just curious.....
     
  11. kensteele

    kensteele iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Is this just for time or is there some other benefit?
     
  12. Hasty

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Have been using these Lifehacker presets in handbrake and they work well.

    My brain is full and it's hard to stuff more info in ATM :(
     
  13. Fotonutz

    Fotonutz iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hillview, Singapore
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hey Y2K,

    Txs for the links!

    It's Great !!!!

    As a result of your link, I ended up re-encoding some of my favorite videos again using the SD settings!

    The quality is better than the Universal or iPod presets.
    When I'm using the Universal or iPod settings at full resolution(1128 X 720 or whatever), I seem to get this interlaced lines that is visible on the iMac and iPad. But with the presets from your link, the quality is better as the lines are no longer visible.

    Txs mate!
     
  14. TJK

    TJK Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    A couple of reasons:
    Ripping with DVD Decrypter is fast and the resulting file is encoded quicker than going straight from DVD to encoded file in Handbrake.

    This way I have the raw ripped file on my HD that can be encoded to different formats as needed such as for my HD in the living room.

    The biggest reason is so I can run a batch process in Handbrake and encode a bunch of files overnight.

    Working in this format the encode in Handbrake takes about 1 to 1-1/2 hrs per movie
     
  15. kensteele

    kensteele iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ^thanks tjk, makes sense. i think i'm going to adopt this method as well. :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
dvd ipad
,

handbrake plist

,
handbrake widescreen ipad
,
jack ryan dvd handbrake
,
plist for handbrake