Ipad photos

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by kellylaubill, Oct 7, 2013.

  1. kellylaubill

    kellylaubill
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have the original iPad and want to know how to remove photos from photo stream without deleting them from an album. The only option I see is if I delete it will delete everywhere.
     
  2. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    18,408
    Thanks Received:
    10,679
    Hi, welcome to iPF!

    While you can remove pictures from PhotoStream without affecting all other albums on your device, it's impossible to delete them from Camera Roll without deleting photos everywhere else as well.
     
    #2 J. A., Oct 7, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2013
  3. giradman

    giradman
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,842
    Thanks Received:
    5,962
    Hi Kelly....​ - welcome to the forum! :) Just for starters & since you have the iPad 1 (i.e. w/o a camera), are the photos on your device those synced from a computer or possibly from a CCK (Camera Connection Kit) for that device (I have an iPad 2, so not sure whether the a kit worked w/ the original iPad?) - this answer will impact on how to remove these photos - SO, please post back to this thread for further advice - Dave :)
     
  4. kellylaubill

    kellylaubill
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Some of my pictures are from my computer but most are saved images from emails and messages.
     
  5. giradman

    giradman
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6,842
    Thanks Received:
    5,962
    Hi Kelly... - well, the photos from those sources (i.e. emails & messages) would have been saved in the 'Camera Roll' (CR) of the native Photo App; if you made 'Albums' in that app, then the images in those albums are simply stored as 'links', i.e. if the image(s) in the CR is deleted, then all of the links are eliminated hence the reason for the message 'deleted everywhere'.

    Now, there are 3rd party apps in which photos can be imported and are 'saved' there in the app's own 'sandbox', e.g. I have the Linkus app HERE - images can be imported (and arranged) which are 'copied' to the app, thus deleting them from your CR will make no difference, BUT will not save a lot of storage space on your iPad if that is your objective - let us no if this additional information is helpful or whether you have further questions. Dave :)
     

Share This Page