Ipad has serious wifi problems

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by FatalDesain, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. FatalDesain
    Offline

    FatalDesain iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm up to owning three ipads now all used 16gb and all of them at some point will not connect to a network. Belkin routers seem to cause it more. Settting ip to static or the reverse seems to fix it but its very annoying.

    Ipad has been out for a while and theynstill have not fixed thia issue. And i have tried this with some pretty popular routers.
  2. rsava
    Offline

    rsava iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Deltona, FL USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just curious as to what firmware you are running on them?

    I use WiFi at mainly at home and use 3G when not home. I use a Netgear N AP (not set as a router) and have ZERO issues. I am running 3.2 and am holding off upgrading mainly because I see WiFi issues being discussed more than I think is appropriate.
  3. wrecklass
    Offline

    wrecklass iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Apparently this is not a problem with Cisco/Linksys routers. My wife and I both use our home wireless routers (WRT54G2) without issue.

    You also may want to check that none of your neighbors are using the same wifi channel as you. Android has a great App for this.
  4. FatalDesain
    Offline

    FatalDesain iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Running 4.2 used linksys routers, netgear, belkin. Wpa and channel is on auto. This happens like maybe one a week and have to restart router.
  5. ctsluder
    Offline

    ctsluder iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    We are buying a new router in January because belkin has does play well with apple devices.
    Will buy a cisco.
  6. ctsluder
    Offline

    ctsluder iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I ment does not play well
  7. SBHOKC
    Offline

    SBHOKC iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I use a Linksys (Cisco) E3000 and have no problems what so ever. My sister was using a Netgear and I had to change it out to a Linksys and have had no problems since.
  8. ctsluder
    Offline

    ctsluder iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    That's the one I'm getting.
  9. chowdown
    Offline

    chowdown iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Hey Fatal, by any chance do you have a computer near you that's running an extra monitor?

    Just asking.
  10. ctsluder
    Offline

    ctsluder iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I got the wifi router and man what a difference it made in the way my a
    Idevises connect to internet and our wireless printer that was not working as far as not responding to commands wirelessly works now This is so nice.
    Thank you all!!!
  11. SBHOKC
    Offline

    SBHOKC iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Great news.. Did you get the E3000?
  12. ctsluder
    Offline

    ctsluder iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Yes I did and I love it so far!!lol :)
  13. iPAD4ME
    Offline

    iPAD4ME iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nc
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I just set up the E3000 too and so far GREAT! Hope to dump the Belkin N+ after a trial few week :))
  14. ctsluder
    Offline

    ctsluder iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Ya my belkin is toast after a taste of this wifi router, I had a buffalo router before the belkin and I missed it so much, then got this one and this router is better then a buffalo.
  15. gulmi
    Offline

    gulmi iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    wireless

    Using the Apple Air Express and it works perfectly.
  16. kctay
    Offline

    kctay iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I use a Linksys and D-Link, both work fine with all "I devices" at home, and work.
    :D
  17. chisaki
    Offline

    chisaki iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'll second the Cisco E3000. I have one and my iPad connected to it out of the box and has never failed to give max lines and top speeds. I can even go next door and it still is connected. It also connects flawlessly at McDonalds and Starbucks as well as many hotels and airports around the country.
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
  18. iPAD4ME
    Offline

    iPAD4ME iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nc
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    For those using the E3000, how do I get/know the iPad on the 5Ghz wifi frequency instead or the 2.4GHz?
  19. SBHOKC
    Offline

    SBHOKC iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It is automatic and really makes no difference which frequency you are on. 5Ghz is no faster than 2.4Ghz, just radio waves....
  20. col.bris
    Offline

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,594
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +481 / 0
    If you have the latest net gear modem router or router use the following when setting up the wifi security other wise you may not connect to the router and or it will be intermittent using not only the iPad, iPhones , iPod touch but also other mobile devices including samsung phones with wifi , playstation, wiki etc

    The setting in security options should be wpa-ask+wpa2-psk

    Access to the modem from a pc or mac with Ethernet and using any browser is
    192.168.0.1. Default User name is admin and password is password. Once in the modem you can access the wifi set up and change the security settings make sure you save changes and all will be updated. This is how i have set up some 40 computer sites using the net gear modems and routers. Hope this is helpful to any net gear users

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

gulmiwifi

,

ipad2 5ghz setting

,

wireless cisco problem