ipad forum app, why does it always miss off the first letter in the post?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by therealriley, Jul 29, 2012.

  1. therealriley

    therealriley iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    548
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    Also I've been having a few issues with connection error prompts coming up on the app but it doesn't seem to be any errors? When I was uploading pictures earlier I got a message saying the plug in used in the app may be outdated and I should contact the administrator. Is it just on mine or does anyone else get these issues. Apart from that I love the app! Thanks
     
  2. skimonkey

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,842
    Thanks Received:
    1,284
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,412 / 1
    I am not certain about that, therealriley...I use the app, but primarily use the browser to get onto the forum.

    Have you tried to do the usual closing Of apps and restart, reset, deleted reinstall?
     
  3. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,276
    Thanks Received:
    782
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +889 / 0
    There is a limit to the size of the picture that can be uploaded. I haven't figured out yet what the file size is, but if you exceed it, the forum software throws the plugin error.
     
  4. therealriley

    therealriley iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    548
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    Maybe it's to do with that then because I was uploading pics. I think my connection error must be my 3G. And it's an intermittent problem with connection errors, resets don't make a difference. The first letter missing though is not a problem I always correct i just noticed other post dont always notice it, so you can tell who's using the app. Still I do like the app, just wondered if it was just on mine. Thanks
     
  5. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    18,195
    Thanks Received:
    3,003
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,823 / 4
    I'm pretty sure the iPF app downsizes pictures before it sends them; other wise I would't be able to send those 5 MP pictures straight off my camera roll. They are definitely smaller when they arrive on the site, at any rate.

    I've noticed the the forum's servers get laggy now and then. The browser/website is fairly tolerant of this (most of the time). The the app doesn't like it at all, and most of my errors occur during these time periods (usually not more than a few minutes long).

    It took a bit to find the max file sizes, but the tiny help button in the attachment dialog got me this. Zip files (the one type not shown) were 19.07 KB, if memory servers).

    MaxFileSz.jpg.jpg
     
  6. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,276
    Thanks Received:
    782
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +889 / 0
    Thanks twerppoet. I figured it was something less than 2Mb for images, but wasn't sure. That makes sense.

    Sent from my iPhone using iPF
     
  7. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    18,195
    Thanks Received:
    3,003
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,823 / 4
    No problem. I was curious myself, but hadn't got around to looking for the answer.
     

Share This Page