i pad wi fi connectivity issues

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by sudhin, Oct 5, 2011.

  1. sudhin

    sudhin iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kuwait
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    my i pad is connecting to the wi fi, but i am not able to access the internet.This does happen often,and if i leave the device and check it after an hour or so it gets access.The signal strength is full all the time.My laptop is connecting to the same wifi,but it does not have the same issue.The reboot works sometimes.
     
  2. Diane B

    Diane B iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    760
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0
    I have found very occasionally over a year and a half with two that one may drop connectivity. I'm not sure why this works ( my forte' is programs/apps and usage, not hardware LOL) but resetting my router works.
     
  3. Somerled

    Somerled iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    522
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Louisville, KY - USA
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    This is usually a hiccup with the Router. It wont matter if one device works, but there may be an issue where the router cannot assign a DHCP address (IP Address dynamically assigned when a device tries to connect to the router) due to the service stopping or some other issue.

    When in doubt, reboot the Router and try again.
     
  4. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    I agree with Diane! It happens to me occasionally too. Usually the iPad immediately finds the network again and, for some reason, prompts me with a dialog box asking if I want to join the network, even though it's a 'known' network and I have it set to 'Join known networks automatically'.

    Tim
     
  5. leelai

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,838
    Thanks Received:
    1,298
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,377 / 0
    Hi and welcome to the Forum. Other members have had this same issue, do a search as I know there are many threads on this topic. You will find that doing some searches will answer most of your questions, if then you can't find what you seek, then by all means post your questions, there are many members here only too willing to help you.
     
  6. LightBytes

    LightBytes iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just replying to document my wifi experience. Not fully robust and definitely quirky. I connect to many different wifi networks (tmobile, home, airports, etc). I've noticed two issues:

    (1) wifi will turn itself off and I can't turn it back on. I can slide the setting to on and when I select another setting and return to network, the setting goes back to off automatically. The fix is to shutdown and relaunch the settings app (or shutdown the whole iPad).

    (2). The iPad will not connect to a network even though it shows as connected in settings. All correct network parameters were retrieved via dhcp etc. Renewing the lease, turning networking off and on and restarting the settings app do not work. The only fix is to fully shutdown the iPad and restart.
     
  7. Diane B

    Diane B iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    760
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0
    I will say that's my panacea for any quirky issue. I haven't had to do it often but owning an Ipad 1 since May 2010 and adding one for my husband that August and doing a lot of "help" for friends new to Ipad I use that when apps don't work correctly, etc. Sometimes a simple reboot works but for persistent issues I reset. Its long been recommended on this forum. Beyond that I have never had an issue that doesn't respond to that or a reset of my router.
     

Share This Page