What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help teaching a kid to build iPad apps using windows

normalham2

iPF Noob
Reaction score
First off, thanks for taking the time to read, it’s an unusual situation, hoping the community can point me in the right direction. I’m in a big brother/little brother program, and my 12 year old little brother has an interest in programming and would like build applications for his iPad. Unfortunately he does not have a mac, only a computer running Windows.

He downloaded the free version of visual studio and was able to create some simple programs, so he’s capable and I’m a professional programmer so I’m willing to learn as well and help him out with anything though I don’t have a mac either. We’re not looking to submit anything to the App Store, just create some cool stuff and get it on his iPad. Though down the road if he thinks he might be able to sell something, that could motivate him to learn.

Do you have any recommendations on how to proceed? I did some Google searching but it’s tough to find development tool prices and with so many options I’m not sure.

Thank you for any recommendations,
Todd

Last edited:

MikesTooLz

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Website
Weather.Team
Step #1 must purchase a Mac. To go the cheapest route, get a used Mac Mini I think they are in the $500 price range for a brand new low end model (at least they used to be) and you can find a used one for a little less.