[help] how to stop ipad restoring.

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by datmast, Mar 3, 2015.

  1. datmast

    datmast
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi all.
    Plz help me.
    I logged in to FMI app in ipad and erased ipad before backup all data.
    After that, the ipad was restored. I have interrupted the restore process by hold power+home (turn off) but everytime it turns on, the restore process is starting.
    Plz help me how to stop it and recover my data.
    Thanks
     
  2. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17,019
    Thanks Received:
    8,666
    That's not possible, as you see yourself. Even if you manage to stop the process, this might completely go wrong.
     
  3. datmast

    datmast
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When it turned on, it still went to the home screen for couple seconds, then restarted and started restoring.
    Is there any way to update or restore it without data lost?
     
  4. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    26,328
    Thanks Received:
    7,778
    I'm afraid not. The restore process wipes the iPad clean. Unless the data is backed up somewhere else it's already gone, as the restore process cannot be reversed once started.
     
  5. datmast

    datmast
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can i use no-erase app to update the ipad to 8.1.3? Someone told me this method helps the ipad updated without data lost. But i am still looking for another method before trying it
     
  6. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    26,328
    Thanks Received:
    7,778
    I'm afraid not. In your first post you said that the iPad had been erased and the restore process had already been started. The regular update process does not result in data loss but once the restore has already started it's too late to go back and do it differently.

    I'm afraid that your data has been lost and you'll have to complete the restore to get your iPad working again.
     
  7. datmast

    datmast
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks
    I just erased it in FMI app. When the ipad restarted and started reatoring process, i turned it off. That was why i still goes to the home screen for some minutes before restoring again.
    I am sure the data was not deleted because it went to home screen and still showing the app i got before
     
  8. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    26,328
    Thanks Received:
    7,778
    The restore process erases everything on the iPad. Once started, it can't be reversed or aborted. Like I said before, there's no way for you to recover any data on your iPad after the restore has started. Delaying the restore by turning off the iPad won't save any data.
     
  9. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20,107
    Thanks Received:
    5,438
    By FMI you mean Find My iPhone (iPad)?

    This method of erasing your iPad, even more than other's, is meant to be non-stoppable. It is supposed to be used when your device is stollen, and you want to keep the thief from getting your information. If it were trivial to interrupt and recover the data, then it would also be pointless.

    Not that other restore methods are recoverable.
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page

how to stop ipad restoration

,

how to stop ipad restore