What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hello from Missouri.... newbie here

jacio

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Good evening! I am in the market for a new computer. My laptop is running on it's last good tire so to speak and I am interested in purchasing an IPad. I I luv my IPhone and the perks from it so an IPAD is my choice. I received a Surface RT last year as a gift and am disappointed in what I cannot do on it.What are the recommendations for purchasing an IPad. Our state is having it's TAX FREE weekend this weekend and we will be purchasing something. Thank you in advance. :)

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
If you are considering the iPad as a laptop/desktop replacement, you will probably want the larger iPad Air. Don't under buy, thinking you can get by on 16 GB of RAM. You're probably going to be using this device for a couple years, so leave yourself some room to grow.

If you think you are going to carry it around a lot then give the wi-fi + cellular models some serious consideration. It's not just about having an internet connection everywhere. That GPS is really handy and only comes with the cellular models.

Whether the iPad will do everything you are used to doing on the laptop is going to depend on what you did on the laptop. There are some tasks that are difficult or impossible on the iPad. You'll also spend quite a bit of time figuring out how to do things differently. iPad's do not have a general purpose file structure like a desktop. Instead of having a bunch of files and then opening in something, You'll find yourself picking apps to keep your files in.

Basically, if you can do it on your iPhone you can do it on the iPad, only with a larger, easier to use, interface.