What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

External GPS device vs Internal GPS

gardavin

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I have an IPAD 1 with wifi and 3G that has an internal GPS. I am a pilot that uses the iPad for secondary tracking of flights. The internal gps works ok during low altitude flights but seems to go out and back in as I climb to higher altitudes. I understand that there are a few devices like the Bad Elf GPS that will work at higher altitudes and at greater speeds. But the reviews I have read state that you need to have an iPad WITHOUT gps for it to work.

Is there a way to disable the internal gps?

Is there a flight map out there that will allow you to use an external gps devise to over ride the internal gps?

Is there another product similar to the Bad Elf GPS that will work with my iPad?

Is my only solution is to get another iPad without gps?

Thanks,
Gonzalo

OP
G

gardavin

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Thank you for the prior thread; it answered many questions.

I guess the only question I have left to this is if I use an external gps device like the Bad Elf, will it overide or substitute the internal gps or will they "fight each other"?

If I desconnect the internal gps from the settings will I be disconnecteing the Bad Elf device as well or will it work fine?

Thanks again for your info.....

jsh1120

iPF Noob
Reaction score

I guess the only question I have left to this is if I use an external gps device like the Bad Elf, will it overide or substitute the internal gps or will they "fight each other"?

If I desconnect the internal gps from the settings will I be disconnecteing the Bad Elf device as well or will it work fine?