Dumb Question

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by stevenflaugher, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. stevenflaugher
    Offline

    stevenflaugher iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When I get the 3G model, how do I get it up and running? I don't have a PC. Doesn't the iPad need to be hooked up with iTunes through a PC. Please inform what to do!
  2. IpadOne
    Offline

    IpadOne iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,252
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Asia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    you need at least to hook it one time with you're iTunes account ... and if you really don't have a PC you download app's , music and video over the app's itunes store with the same account you use the first time
  3. CGPanama
    Offline

    CGPanama iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Not sure

    That's a good question. I do know that the first thing I had to do with my iPad was synch it to iTunes.

    My guess is that you have two options (one likely and one not):

    1) "borrow" another computer. Either work or a friend's that can have an account setup for you. Then just use it periodically to backup and update your account. I have rarely needed to synch my iPhone since I have had it, and usually to sync music/apps back to my computer so that my wife (iPhone) or daughter (iPod Touch) can access them. The rest of the time it is for updates and to make sure that it backs up my purchases.

    2) Unlikely, but maybe the Apple Store can help initialize the iPad. Then you are on your own. Though I doubt they would support that.

    Best of luck,
  4. IpadOne
    Offline

    IpadOne iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,252
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Asia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    iPad /iTunes


    Don't work as you iPad need to activated with you're itunes account
  5. stevenflaugher
    Offline

    stevenflaugher iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So it's unlikely that when I go to the Apple store to buy the 3G that they'll sync/initialize it in the store?
  6. CGPanama
    Offline

    CGPanama iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Steven,

    I doubt it, but you can always ask. Realistically, just ask a good friend to setup a separate account for you on their computer. Create your iTunes account and sync the iPad. Then just stop by every few weeks to backup your content and get the latest updates.

    Or heck, buy a $200 used cheap computer. And keep it in the closet. Pull it out every few weeks when you need to update.
  7. IpadOne
    Offline

    IpadOne iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,252
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Asia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ipad initialize

    You initialize it with the 3G ... for the sync need you're iTunes account
  8. stevegm
    Offline

    stevegm iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Activate in store

    When I picked mine up yesterday morning the apple store was offering to activate them in store. The iPad must be activated through iTunes before the first use. After that, you need to sync through iTunes periodically (maybe 4 times a year if my iPhone is any indication). Therefore, you really should have access to iTunes but I believe you can activate in the apple store when you first get it. And you can download apps, music, etc. without a computer. I took mine home and activated because the store was crazy busy and I wanted to get out and play with it.

    As a word of encouragement, it is better than I even imagined, and worth the wait.
  9. stevenflaugher
    Offline

    stevenflaugher iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm confused. To activate the 3G iPad, I need an iTunes account?
  10. Seadog
    Offline

    Seadog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    You go to iTunes on the iPad and set up an account with them. That means you give them an e-mail account and a password. This allows you to download apps. It is recommended that your e-mail account not be only accessabile thru the iPad.
  11. Edlex
    Offline

    Edlex iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I can't get past the fact you don't have a computer. 21st century is knocking and it wants to come in;)
  12. stevenflaugher
    Offline

    stevenflaugher iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I can actually set-up an iTunes account on a new iPad? I thought I need an existing iTunes account to get the iPad activated and working.

    Could I register and open an iTunes account on someone's PC, then go into an Apple Store and have them activate the iPad and sync it with my iTunes account?
  13. CGPanama
    Offline

    CGPanama iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Steve, someone else mentioned that they will activate your iPad in the store. But I think all of us are running blind and guessing based on past experience. In the end, your best bet would be to talk to someone at Apple who can let you know the limitations of this method.
  14. Seadog
    Offline

    Seadog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    Do you have an e-mail account? That should be all you need. Even if you do not have one, you can go to most libraries. Besides, how are you on here? The Apple store should be able to let you connect through their wifi and you can sign up for e-mail and a itunes account with the iPad. They would know how to do it without any effort.
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2010
  15. stevenflaugher
    Offline

    stevenflaugher iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I do have several email accounts. I just hope the Apple Store can set-up the device so it's up and running before I leave the store!
  16. IpadOne
    Offline

    IpadOne iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,252
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Asia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    iPad is not for dumb

    in is trailer he can't find a place for install a netbook
  17. IpadOne
    Offline

    IpadOne iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,252
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Asia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    iPad is not for dumb


    Excuse me , but you are a dumb by your self .... we explain you the process but seem's you don't listen .... YOU SHOULD HAVE ACCOUNT IS CLEARLY WRITED IN THE IPAD REQUIREMENT

    Mac system requirements
    Mac computer with USB 2.0 port
    Mac OS X v10.5.8 or later
    iTunes 9.0 or later (free download from Apple - iTunes - Download iTunes Now)
    iTunes Store account
    Internet access
    Windows system requirements
    PC with USB 2.0 port
    Windows 7; Windows Vista; or Windows XP Home or Professional with Service Pack 3 or later
    iTunes 9.0 or later (free download from Apple - iTunes - Download iTunes Now)
    iTunes Store account
    Internet access
  18. stevenflaugher
    Offline

    stevenflaugher iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My situation is this: Like many others, I want to get an iPad INSTEAD of a PC. Can you not understand that? I don't want or need several computers of any variety!
  19. IpadOne
    Offline

    IpadOne iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,252
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Asia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Dumb Question from a dumb One

    AND THE REPLY IS HERE

    YOU SHOULD HAVE ACCOUNT IS CLEARLY WRITED IN THE IPAD REQUIREMENT

    Mac system requirements
    Mac computer with USB 2.0 port
    Mac OS X v10.5.8 or later
    iTunes 9.0 or later (free download from Apple - iTunes - Download iTunes Now)
    iTunes Store account
    Internet access

    Windows system requirements
    PC with USB 2.0 port
    Windows 7; Windows Vista; or Windows XP Home or Professional with Service Pack 3 or later
    iTunes 9.0 or later (free download from Apple - iTunes - Download iTunes Now)
    iTunes Store account
    Internet access

    DO YOU KNOW HOW TO READ ??

    at least 6 peoples told you the same but seem's you are deaf and blind
  20. stevenflaugher
    Offline

    stevenflaugher iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hey dude, I happen to have a graduate degree; my academic skills are very well-developed. My point is this: One does NOT have to have a PC in order to own and operate an iPad. I can get an iTunes account from any PC with internet service.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to initialise an ipad 2 without itunes?
,

how to initialize an ipad

,
how to initialize i-pad 2
,

how to initialize ipad

,
how to initialize ipad for novice
,
how to reinitialize ipad
,
howard to initialize ipad without passcode
,
initialize an iphone
,

initialize ipad

,
initialize ipad without itunes
,
initialize iphone without itunes
,
initializing an ipad
,

initializing ipad

,
initializing ipad1
,
ipad air taking long time to initialize
,
re-initializing an ipad
,
reinitialize an ipad
,
reinitialize ipad2
,
reinitialize iphone with computer
,
reinitializing ipad