Dumb Question

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by stevenflaugher, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. stevenflaugher

    stevenflaugher
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When I get the 3G model, how do I get it up and running? I don't have a PC. Doesn't the iPad need to be hooked up with iTunes through a PC. Please inform what to do!
     
  2. IpadOne

    IpadOne
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,247
    Thanks Received:
    0
    you need at least to hook it one time with you're iTunes account ... and if you really don't have a PC you download app's , music and video over the app's itunes store with the same account you use the first time
     
  3. CGPanama

    CGPanama
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Not sure

    That's a good question. I do know that the first thing I had to do with my iPad was synch it to iTunes.

    My guess is that you have two options (one likely and one not):

    1) "borrow" another computer. Either work or a friend's that can have an account setup for you. Then just use it periodically to backup and update your account. I have rarely needed to synch my iPhone since I have had it, and usually to sync music/apps back to my computer so that my wife (iPhone) or daughter (iPod Touch) can access them. The rest of the time it is for updates and to make sure that it backs up my purchases.

    2) Unlikely, but maybe the Apple Store can help initialize the iPad. Then you are on your own. Though I doubt they would support that.

    Best of luck,
     
  4. IpadOne

    IpadOne
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,247
    Thanks Received:
    0
    iPad /iTunes


    Don't work as you iPad need to activated with you're itunes account
     
  5. stevenflaugher

    stevenflaugher
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So it's unlikely that when I go to the Apple store to buy the 3G that they'll sync/initialize it in the store?
     
  6. CGPanama

    CGPanama
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Steven,

    I doubt it, but you can always ask. Realistically, just ask a good friend to setup a separate account for you on their computer. Create your iTunes account and sync the iPad. Then just stop by every few weeks to backup your content and get the latest updates.

    Or heck, buy a $200 used cheap computer. And keep it in the closet. Pull it out every few weeks when you need to update.
     
  7. IpadOne

    IpadOne
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,247
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ipad initialize

    You initialize it with the 3G ... for the sync need you're iTunes account
     
  8. stevegm

    stevegm
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Activate in store

    When I picked mine up yesterday morning the apple store was offering to activate them in store. The iPad must be activated through iTunes before the first use. After that, you need to sync through iTunes periodically (maybe 4 times a year if my iPhone is any indication). Therefore, you really should have access to iTunes but I believe you can activate in the apple store when you first get it. And you can download apps, music, etc. without a computer. I took mine home and activated because the store was crazy busy and I wanted to get out and play with it.

    As a word of encouragement, it is better than I even imagined, and worth the wait.
     
  9. stevenflaugher

    stevenflaugher
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm confused. To activate the 3G iPad, I need an iTunes account?
     
  10. Seadog

    Seadog
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    You go to iTunes on the iPad and set up an account with them. That means you give them an e-mail account and a password. This allows you to download apps. It is recommended that your e-mail account not be only accessabile thru the iPad.
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
how to initialise an ipad 2 without itunes?
,
how to initialize an ipad
,

how to initialize ipad

,
how to initialize ipad for novice
,
how to reinitialize ipad
,

initialize ipad

,
initialize ipad without itunes
,
initialize iphone without itunes
,

initializing ipad

,
reinitialize an ipad