Deactivating "use my contacts" in game center?

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by Boom, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. Boom

    Boom
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Question as above. Does anyone know if it possible to deactivate the supposed recommendation option in game center which looks to your contacts app to generate further friends recommendations. It looks like this

    "Use my contacts" upload your contacts to get more personalised friend recommendations.

    Unless I am wrong if you select this, whilst not only making friend recommendations, what it also seems to do is also share ALL your existing GC friends and their GC friends details (aka real names) to those who you are connected to in GC.

    There seems to be no way to turn this off!!!
     
  2. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20,104
    Thanks Received:
    5,434
    I don't know about the Contacts themselves, but:

    Tap your Account name on the Me tab and choose View Account. After you enter your password you'll see a few options. One of them is Public Profile. As long as this is OFF no one but those you actually friend can see you profile, including your actual name. All anyone else sees is your nickname.

    It also prevents you from being recommended to other people as a friend. I suspect that turning on Contacts will automatically make you public, but maybe not, and it should be reversible.
     
    #2 twerppoet, Apr 10, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2012

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
game center friend recommendations
,
game center recommendations
,

game center upload contacts

,
game center use my contacts
,
how do i upload my contacts to game center
,
how does game center recommend friends
,
how does gamecenter recommend friends
,
how to block recommendations on game center
,

how to upload contacts to game center

,
upload contacts to game center