can i use my ipad(3g) in roatan, honduras?

Discussion in 'iPad Carriers' started by joys, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. joys
    Offline

    joys iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    has anyone used their ipad in honduras? i recently purchased an ipad2 with 3g (from canada) and would like to take it on a trip to roatan, honduras. the service providers in hondura are Tigo and Claro. would appreciate any user experience information. thanks.
     
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    No problem...

    From Wikipedia..

    [edit]Honduras
    TIGO was launched in Honduras in 2004, to replace the old national brand CELTEL, that had been founded on September 15, 1996, with a new international brand. TIGO Honduras, in a country of 8 million inhabitants with an 87% mobile penetration rate has a total 4.5 million users.[1] It competes with international operators Claro (America Movil), Digicel (Digicel Group) and government owned operator Hondutel, using GSM/GPRS and UMTS (HSDPA) 3G both over 850*MHz. Now shutdown technologies include AMPS and CDMA.

    Tim
     
  3. joys
    Offline

    joys iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks Tim. I have researched this information and yes, it appears that I should be able to do this. However, a friend who travels there regularly claims 3G is not accessible without a broadband stick which is purchased from a carrier in Honduras. The stick needs a USB port. I'm not particularly savvy about this kind of thing so I really want to know if somebody has used an ipad in Honduras.
     
  4. heartbreakid
    Offline

    heartbreakid iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tegucigalpa, Honduras
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well, I live here in tegucigalpa,Honduras...The stick your friend tells u about is only For laptops/Desktop pcs, you can use ur Ipad with 3G Connectivity with no Problem only ur roaming fees will go through the roof xD! I recommend you buying a sim card from Here (TIGO) and activating a weekly or monthly internet plan, its really cheap.
    My mom has the ipad, my dad the ipad 2 and they acquired a sim card from tigo just for the ipad with a monthly internet plan. They can use 3G almost everywhere.
    Good Luck, and enjoy RoataN! Its really beautiful =)
     
  5. Donna Cope
    Offline

    Donna Cope iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sandpoint, Idaho
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi. My husband and I have a cabana in Sandy Bay in Honduras and have been going there 1 or 2 times every year for about 10 years. I have been using the TIGO stick with my laptop. But just got an I Pad for Christmas and would rather take it with me in March. How does the SIM card work. There is no way to open the I Pad. Does the SIM card somehow insert in the lightning charging port?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
buy ipad in honduras
,

can i use my ipad in honduras

,

ipad honduras

,
use an ipad in honduras
,
using an ipad in honduras