Can Airport express base station turn wifi to ethernet?

Discussion in 'iPad Accessories for iPAD 1, 2 and 3' started by Sonicrobby, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. Sonicrobby
    Offline

    Sonicrobby iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    505
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Currently using a slingbox pro hd which requires an Ethernet inlet (no built in wifi). I have a router, but my sling box is nowhere near it, so I need to get Ethernet access in a room which has none. I'm using a sling link turbo to provide me that ethernet availability (Internet through the power lines). The thing is now I have two sling links in the house and the cables are building up and getting in the way, plus the connection isn't that great.

    Googling ways to solve this, I look for devices that can receive wifi signals, and be able to pass it on through Ethernet cables to other devices. I happen to stumble upon a site with a side not that the express base station from apple is able to do this, is this true? And is this device compatible with a non-apple router?
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2013
  2. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    You can get a bridge device....or even a repeater.

    Or, you can go powerline! As long as you don't try to stream blu-rays, it should work great. You'll get two pieces, one that has to be near the router...and there is an ethernet jack on it that you plug into the router. The other peice will go near your device...and it too has an enternet jack...and you plug your device into it. Some even come with serveral ethernet jacks, so you can put your entire home theater on your network.

    I have a couple different brands and they book work well. I'd do a little research to find which gives you the highest throughput. Things improve over time....
  3. petermillard
    Offline

    petermillard iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    He's already using a powerline :)
    Short answer - yes, Airport Express can do this - I just tried it with the one I have in my kitchen. This AE is set up to extend the existing WiFi signal (from a non-Apple router as it happens), I killed WiFi on my laptop and connected by ethernet cable to the AE, and it worked fine; you won't get ethernet speeds, obviously, but I've found WiFi to be better than powerline adapters, personally.

    HTH Pete
  4. Sonicrobby
    Offline

    Sonicrobby iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    505
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Thanks so much! Going out to buy one :D

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

airport express

,

do i need a modem wifi with airport basestation

,

ipad ethernet

,

wifi base station