What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

3G and wifi on

Ipaddoc

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi to every body
I am new to the iPad, i have the 3G and wi fi iPad and I want to know if there is a way so the iPad connects always to the wifi net if there is one available and connects to the 3G net if there is no wifi in the place, I am at the moment using the 3G off and turning it on if no wifi. Would the ipad recognize this situation automatically?
Thanks

Davidmacpherson

iPF Noob
Reaction score
My understanding is the iPad defaults to a WiFi connection if one is available and only go 3G if it has to.

Mine behaves like this in both my office and at home.

David

lprmcnit

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I haven't paid to subscribe to the data service on my iPad, so my only experience with this question is with an older iPhone 3g(upgraded to OS 4.0x).

Say you are on a place with a configured wi-fi network, then leave the building. I found it does a pretty good job of switching to the 3G network.

Say you do the reverse, move from a place where there is 3G only coverage to a place where there is wi-fi. It doesn't do quite as well.

Say you are in a place with both configured wi-fi and with 3G coverage; it seems to default to wi-fi first, then it tries 3G. As noted below, this is a problem if you are on a corporate or secure wi-fi network with proxy requirements. If the wi-fi internet connection "chokes" (due to proxy)it doesn't seem to be quick about recovering and switching to the 3G network as a non-proxied alternative.