What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Transferring files to/from iPad

Wayne Block

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I am still relatively new with my iPad and finally solved a problem with adding my personal music to it. Now, however, I have a different question.
I kind of understand why Apple made that process so difficult, they really only want you to buy their music.
My question now is much more basic. Unless I am wrong, transferring data to and from the iPad is about as difficult.
I would like to set up mine to be able to do some work. I looked for info on how to transfer files back and forth but it seems almost as difficult. One site I looked at had six different methods, each requiring between 12-16 steps. That's crazy.
I do have an iPad compatible flash drive that should make it easier, but I still have no idea how to access the iPad file structure.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Also, any suggestions on apps that emulate Microsoft Office, at least the Word and Excel modules?

giradman

iPad Fan
Reaction score
I am still relatively new with my iPad and finally solved a problem with adding my personal music to it. Now, however, I have a different question.
I kind of understand why Apple made that process so difficult, they really only want you to buy their music.
My question now is much more basic. Unless I am wrong, transferring data to and from the iPad is about as difficult.
I would like to set up mine to be able to do some work. I looked for info on how to transfer files back and forth but it seems almost as difficult. One site I looked at had six different methods, each requiring between 12-16 steps. That's crazy.