What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Absinthe failing with "The URL cannot be shown' when running the app

damorpad

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi All,

Newbie here, as I've been spending an hour trying to run Absinthe on my iPad2, but it's just failing to perform the crash at the end after running the app.

I'm running the desktop app on a Windows XP SP3 laptop, and connected my iPad2. It seemed to run fine - originally taking around 15 mins for the first step with my fully-loaded iPad. The iPad went through the restoring phase, the desktop app completed, and it asked me to unlock the iPad and run the Absinthe app, which I did.

This is where things went wrong; instead of getting a white screen, or a Database error, I got the "Wait for absinthe to complete..." page.
After around 30 seconds, it says "Didn't work? Try this: 1. Tap 'Jailbreak' to open the Settings Application and turn on the VPN named 'Jailbreak'.
I tap the big green glowing "Jailbreak" button below it, and it gives an error popup:
"Cannot Open Absinthe. Absinthe could not be opened. The error was "The URL can't be shown".
It offers "Close" and "Retry". Retry repeats the error over and over again, and Close closes the app.

OK. So I close the app, and go to the Settings myself. I already have a VPN connection for something else, and sure enough, "jailbreak" is a new connection there. The only open in it is "Connect on demand" (which is enabled). I select it, turn on VPN, and it asks for a password - it greys out the 'Done' button unless I type something. I don't know, so I type anything... it ticks, and then reports "VPN Connection: Authentication failed". Fair enough.