What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What size to buy? Very novice so please bear with me!

Kilbady

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi,

I've recently joined the forum to pick some brains on whether I am doing the right thing in buying an iPad 2. I'm very new to Apple having bought an iPod Touch 32GB just last month but am already a convert and don't know how I managed without it.

Since buying the iPod, my laptop which was used primarily for surfing, emailing and a small amount of office paperwork (uncomplicated excel spreadsheets and word docs) has died and I'm wondering if the iPad can fill the gap? I understand that there are various Apps available that are compatible with Word and Excel but would be keen to know how other users have got along.

As I've got the Touch for music, I'd be looking at using the iPad for storage of photos, videos, the odd game and surfing the internet in the main. What do you think about the size, would 16GB be sufficient? Or is it better to push the boat out for the 64GB?

Also, how secure is the iPad? For example, with internet banking? Do you need additional programmes - thinking along the lines of Norton or McAfee?

Sorry that these questions are very basic but I am a real novice and quite nervous about committing a lot of money if it's not going to tick all the boxes.

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

sjleworthy

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Website
www.sjleworthy.com
Welcome to the world of Apple gadgets. No turning back now !