What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Video not being shown under "Videos"

cwinter

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have been using an iPod Touch for many years but for a while now have mostly been poking around with Android devices (Tablet and various phones). Just a few days ago though I have received a 3rd generation iPad and am having a good time with it so far. However, some things I just need to get used to to understand how to get iOS to do what I want it to do.

One of those little mysteries is the purpose of the "Videos" app. When I open it, it directs me to the iTunes store to download videos. That's fine and all, but shouldn't it also show me whatever other videos I have stored on the iPad? For example, my wife took a video of my daughter on her Android phone and sent it to me via email. I downloaded it to the iPad and when I click on "Videos" it is nowhere to be found. Oddly enough, it does show up under "Photos" in the Camera Roll and I can play it just fine and watch it on the iPad. So I'm wondering, what is there to do with the "Videos" app. Does it only show purchased videos from iTunes? Do I need to go to "Photos" to see my videos. :)

Thanks for all and any enlightenment.

Last edited:

KevinJS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
It does seem strange, but the camera roll is where your videos end up.

If you rip DVDs and transfer them they go to videos, as do the digital copies which are supplied free with some BluRay disks.

Just a quirk of iOS, I guess.

Sent from my iPad 4 HD mini

OP
cwinter

cwinter

iPF Noob
Reaction score