What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Upgrade or wait?

AppleAlias3

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hey everyone

So, I bought my iPad in mid-November and have been extremely satisfied with it since. It is my only computer-type thing and I am just a freshman in high school. With the release of the iPad 2, I have been distracted and bothered by having an "old" device (that's just how i am). I have some extra money around and I could pretty much afford the iPad 2, but the question is if i really need it. I will use video chatting occasionally and use the camera pretty often, and try to use the video camera as much as possible. I really like the design and new faster speeds, but there is nothing very revolutionary, more evolutionary, but i still want it. I am deciding whether i should keep mine and wait for something better, or buy the iPad 2. I know there will be an iPad 3, and probably a 4, but I don't know when, and I'm very impatient. My iPad does what I need, but I still want the iPad 2. Please help me decide!

CarissaGronski

iPF Noob
Reaction score
This may or may not help:

I'm in the same boat, and have been debating all week. I use my iPad 1 daily, usually have to charge it every day or every other, draining it Ruhr down to the battery. Also obsessed with getting the newest generation, but my MacBook does everything my iPad doesn't. So my biggest upgrade would be FaceTime. Now, my mother-in-law just got her first webcam and is constantly trying to chat with us, and an iPad with a camera would just be easier than "dragging out" the laptop ( which is how it feels now that I'm used to the iPad).