What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

tethering question

jmorton10

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I have a rooted DroidX phone with the free wireless tether app installed & working.

I can tether my Windows 7 Pro laptop to it whenever I want & it works super.

I have a 64 gig Verizon 3G/WiFi Ipad 2 coming from Apple (if they ever get off their a** & actually ship the damn thing). Will I be able to tether the ipad to the phone the same way I do with the laptop??

I know my Daughter's ipod touch tethers just fine & I am thinking the ipad should work the same way??

I am a computer tech/network administrator but have very little experience with Macs.

~John

LolaAM

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Yes, you will be able to. Why get the 3G iPad if you can just tether from your phone?

OP
J

jmorton10

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Yes, you will be able to. Why get the 3G iPad if you can just tether from your phone?

Just in case I ever need it, it didn't really up the price all that much.

~John

deftdrummer

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I used the Droid X rooted and free wifi tethering up until a few days ago just fine. It works great and I like not having to turn off wifi in the settings all the time. I only stopped because my DX took a dump the other day so I now have an iPhone 4 coming. :)

OP
J

jmorton10

iPF Noob
Reaction score
my DX took a dump the other day so I now have an iPhone 4 coming. :)

WOW, I can't even imagine going from the big screen of the DX to the smaller Iphone screen at this point (& my business pays for my phones, I could have an iphone for free if I wanted it).

~John

Last edited:

Rudinater

iPF Noob
Reaction score