What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Share router with Ipad

billybobtoo

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Newbie here. I will be relocationg in 6 months to a new state. I will be sharing space with a brother who has a pc, and a router, for his laptop. he also has a regular pc computer connected via cable. I will be there 3 months. Then I will move into my own space.
I own a mini mac, 10.4 version. it's 7 years old. Love it. But it is time for me to upgrade.
My question is, if I buy an Ipad, can I use it in my brother's house , using my brother's router(that he uses for his pc?).
Or do I need to get another wi-fi router specific to my Ipad?
Also, I have heard that Ipad needs a later version than my 10.4. Is this correct?
I probably couldn't use my old mini mac with my Ipad, assuming I purchase one. (Do I even need a mini mac to use an Ipad?)

I'm trying to avoid buying both a new mini mac, and a new Ipad at the same time.

It probably makes more sense to just buy a new mini mac, leopard or tiger version...then just wait a few months and purchase an Ipad.

Any help would be appreciated. Bill

Gabriel1

iPF Noob
Reaction score
billybobtoo said:
Newbie here. I will be relocationg in 6 months to a new state. I will be sharing space with a brother who has a pc, and a router, for his laptop. he also has a regular pc computer connected via cable. I will be there 3 months. Then I will move into my own space.
I own a mini mac, 10.4 version. it's 7 years old. Love it. But it is time for me to upgrade.
My question is, if I buy an Ipad, can I use it in my brother's house , using my brother's router(that he uses for his pc?).
Also, I have heard that Ipad needs a later version than my 10.4. Is this correct?