What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Safari

wayneborean

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I have an iPad 1, 64 gb, WiFi. It gets a lot of use for research, and Safari is driving me nuts because it crashes all of the time.

So I'm looking for a replacement browser. By a replacement I don't mean something that sits on top of Safari and pretends to offer something extra, I mean something that totally replaces the Safari engine. Other applications that rely on Safari like some of the newspaper applications are also unstable. Safari is the culprit.

Applications that don't use Safari run fine (in case you are wondering how I can tell, I'm a journalist who writes about technology, and I asked).

Suggestions anyone? Right now if Safari could be rated in the App Store I'd give it one star.

Wayne

dMog

iPF Noob
Reaction score
safari should not be crashing..are you doing anyhting else that you need to tell the forum about?

OP
W

wayneborean

iPF Noob
Reaction score
dMog said:
safari should not be crashing..are you doing anyhting else that you need to tell the forum about?

Besides sometimes having a few tabs open, no. How could I be doing anything else. IPads do not multitask. Of course I have no idea what Apple has running in the background. That I can't see.

I do have most "location services" turned off. I value my privacy, but none of them have anything to do with Safari directly, and most of those apps (NHL Gamecenter for example) I hate and use rarely.

Wayne

OP
W

wayneborean

iPF Noob
Reaction score
dMog said: