What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Raw photo management

Cwbash

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I use my iPad 2 to manage photos when traveling. I'd like full support of raw photos including getting all the EXIF file from the camera. (in specific, I'm using a Canon camera.)

f4780y

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Not possible AFAIK cwbash, sorry. You can transfer the camera raw files through the CCK onto the iPad, but you cannot do anything with them there. It is simply a storage medium / backup device until you get back to a PC. Even then you are usually much faster pulling them back off the camera / card reader to your PC.
I'm a keen amateur photographer myself, but because of the storage limitations on the iPad I don't use it to store my RAW files, even temporarily. Not enough spare storage!
It's great for reviewing JPEGs in the go and great when you are on holiday without your laptop, but it's not (yet) a great device to fully integrate into your photography workflow.
Fingers crossed for the future though! It can only get better...

Tom March

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I don't agree fully with that answer. You can transfer your RAW photos from your camera to your IPad (at least I can on fully my ipad2) using a camera connection kit ( I have an off-brand, inexpensive one) and you can view them on your iPad and there are apps that let you do some adjustment to them.

I use a Canon. It does include exif info and I believe some apps let you modify iota data.

My plan for long trips is to upload those I want to see on the trip but still use my 80 gb iPod to store them all until I get home.

Last edited:

f4780y

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score