What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Photo compression...poor

Sussexsaint

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Using the iPad to back up my dslr as I am a semi serious photographer and this was the reason I went for the 64 gb.

The files transfernok , if a little slowly but on display the large raw files are very compressed with lots of large errors and lines through the photos.

They do clear eventually but this can take several minutes

Many times the iPad has actually hung before the errors have been cleared

Anyone else had this?

jwt873

iPF Novice
Reaction score
I'm also an avid photographer. I have a Canon 7D DSLR and a large collection of lenses.. I only use my iPad to display images.. (Like you would a digital picture frame). I crop all my images to a 1024x768 aspect ratio so they always fit the screen with no black bars at the side or top of the image.

I don't know this for a fact, but I'm pretty sure the iPad downsizes 'synced' and 'saved' images and then formats them to fit the 1024x768 pixel screen. They are no longer the same once they wind up in the Photo Album app.

Also.. I do know that RAW files aren't an image format. They consist of RAW data captured from the camera's sensor. There is no white balance, contrast, sharpness etc.... In order to convert them to proper images they have to be processed on a computer..

RAW files from each camera manufacturer are proprietary. You need special software from the manufacturer to convert RAW files into a proper, commonly recognized image format like TIFF or JPEG. I doubt very much that the iPad has the ability to decode every known RAW format from every camera manufacturer. I suspect that they don't.