What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Not sure if I should create an ebook of my children's book.

new author

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a new self-published author of a children's book with professional illustrations. I was thinking of making an ebook of my children's book, but I'm not sure if I should. I've been told, some people may buy the ebook and remove the protection from the file and give it away to others for free. Then, the file will be "out there" and even more people can download it for free. If they are able to do that, they probably won't buy the book and I will not make very much on an ebook that people can download for free. I need to make a little money on all my efforts and try to make back the cost of self-publishing, which to date is almost $5000 for 1 book. I have 4 other children's books in the series which I need to publish.

I would like know the pros and cons of an ebook to help me decide what to do. Also, any suggestions of who to contact to create the ebook. I have looked into many, but it is so confusing. Thanks so much for your help and advice.

Skull One

iPF Novice
Reaction score
There are currently NO ebooks formats that are 100% protected from theft. It simply doesn't exist. So anything you do has to be done with the knowledge that someone is going to steal your work.

With that in mind, I would suggest if you have an Apple computer that you download the new iBook app which allows you to make an ebook for free and then directly publish it on the Apple store. Apple will take its normal 30% cut but it would allow you to only invest time in creating the ebook in their format.

leelai

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score