What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New MacBook Pro User. Wow!

Kingsmuse

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I've been using Front Row since 2007, on a Mac mini before they went to core2duo processors. I'm not sure what King Hal means that it's a "dog". Compared to what exactly? It has always worked fine for us, from our first mini to our current iMac.

Compared to this..

Plex - A Complete Media Solution

Honestly I haven`t used Front Row much.
I started tinkering with it when I set my Mac Mini up as a media center and while trying to find a work around for some problem or other with getting Front Row to stream my content I found Plex.

It will stream content from any computer in my house to my media center.
Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, Pandora, and tons of other media channels.

Very cool application.

They have an iPad app in the app store that turns your iPad, iPhone, or iPod into a remote for Plex.

I love it.

xune

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Thanks for the link- Between Front Row and Apple TV, i believe my media needs are covered, but I'll check it out :)

Last edited:

DaveSt

iPF Noob
Reaction score
If Microsoft was smart they`d narrow their efforts to developing software/cloudware for Mac OS, Chrome and Android.

That is a curious statement. Would that really be the smart move for MS? The business world runs on Windows software, for better or worse. I don't see the business world moving to OS X (or the other desktop alternative, Linux) any time in the near or distant future mainly because the software support simply isn't there. I don't think Apple has ever really tried to make a serious push at the business environment anyhow.