What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

My name is Josh and Calendar syncing on my iPad has gone wrong

jcbdick

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I work in IT as a consultant. I started on Apple's as a kid in school, then Microsoft for the last 20 years and now I am attempting an iPad. I have had it for less than a week and have my biggest issue with my calendar while the rest has been pretty easy.

I synced my iPad with my Exchange, Google and Yahoo calendars and e-mail. Now i have duplication of birthdays for people from my contacts. Sometimes as many as 24 copies. How can I clean this up?

I have completely deleted the Gmail and Yahoo accounts from the iPad and turned off the sync of the exchange account, and the birthdays still show. It is like the device has saved a copy of the birthdays locally and then made them grow exponentially. They are listed between 20-44 times and that is with all syncing turned off. It is the only thing showing up in my calendar and it is a gray color where none of my color coding was gray.

When I tap Calendars button in the Calendar app, the only things are "On My iPad" and "Birthdays" and I need to have both checked to see the long list of birthdays.

I am also unable to delete the birthdays. It allows me to tap a delete button, but does not do anything.

This is happening on my wifes iPad 1 and my iPad 3. Mine is described above. The only account synced with hers is the gmail account and only the calendar part. On hers I am unable to tap delete or edits the entries, but on mine the delete button is there and doesn't do anything so it doesn't seem to make a difference.