What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Microsoft Word/office users HELP! I want to edit word on Ipad

lanimae

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi al. I don't know if anyone can help/advise. I want to buy an Ipad but want to know if I can open and edit word docs. I am a writer and want to buy an Ipad but only if I can edit word docs. I know it does lots of other great stuff but this is the one thing I really need. Does anyone know if you can TETHER? I have an Iphone 4 and I would be nice to use the data between the two devices. Thanks so much all, Cheers, Alan

pallentx

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Documents to Go can read and create the latest office formats. There are some others as well. None are anywhere close to as robust as Word, but they will do the trick for basic functions. Get a free dropbox for easy transferring your files between any computer and your iPad.

arshield

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Website
mrshields.com
The new version of pages is supposed to as well, but I have not tried it. I have used Quickoffice and Office HD2. Both have some quirks but both work.

deckyon

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Website
www.sturmphoto.com
I would have to put my vote to Documents 2 Go. They have been around since the Palm and WinCE days and each version adds improvements.

Also, Docs2Go allows editing of Word, Excel and Publisher for the same cost as just one of the iWorks products.

You will not have the same editing functionality that is within Word in any other editor built to edit the same files. These editors are meant only to allow quick editing, not as a replacement.

michali

iPF Novice
Reaction score
@ deckyon...can Docs2Go read and edit Publisher?

OP
L

lanimae

iPF Noob
Reaction score