What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jailbreaking - Back to Basics

Robinbx

iPF Noob
Reaction score
As a beginner, my problem is that even the most simple discussions about jail breaking never actually explain in truly simple words just what jail breaking is, i.e. how does it change the iPad, why you would want to do it, why you would NOT want to do it, and how you go about doing it. All I see are references to TinyUmbrella and Cydia, with the assumption that everyone knows all about them (which maybe everyone does, except me).

Any chance of going back to basics for this dummy?

Robin

OP
R

Robinbx

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Thank you so much - I saw that very informative posting right after I submitted mine.

Can't believe you responded so quickly.

OP
R

Robinbx

iPF Noob
Reaction score
OK, I have read that excellent tutorial on jail breaking, twice over. Don't want to risk losing anything on my iPad, so have a few questions...

1.. My iPad is on 4.2.1, and I am perfectly happy with that IOS for now. Which jail-break program would you recommend?

2.. The things I don't like about the iPad are the inability to instal Adobe Flash Player and the dependence on ITunes. Will jail-breaking fix the Adobe problem, and really allow me to see and transfer files (and do a full backup) to my Winows XP PC?

3.. Would I still need iTunes after a jail break?

Many thanks

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
OK, I have read that excellent tutorial on jail breaking, twice over. Don't want to risk losing anything on my iPad, so have a few questions...

1.. My iPad is on 4.2.1, and I am perfectly happy with that IOS for now. Which jail-break program would you recommend?