What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ipad Mini - Blank screen after LCD / Digitizer replacement

MaineTech

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello IPad community, I'm a Tech from Maine searching for some assistance with an IPad mini Model# A1432 if at all possible. My niece mistakenly dropped it and cracked the digitizer and LCD so I'm attempting to fix this for her.

I'm pretty technically savvy and have replaced tablet screens a few times before. But this one has definitely been a challenge. So far I have carefully removed the old digitizer and screen. Then I replaced them both with new ones, but all I am getting is a blank screen

Here's where I'm at so far.
  • You can hear the sounds from the IPad and the computer recognizes it, but no display at all.
  • Checked the connections for the LCD and the Digitizer and battery several times. Snapped into place securely.
  • Unplugged the battery and left it for an hour or so, still not working.
  • Held a bright light up to the screen while powered on, cannot see anything.
  • I even tried going back to the old LCD to test, it was showing some colors before, now nothing shows up.
  • I've held the power and the home key several times and had it power off and back on.
  • I then used a multi-meter, tested the fuse, It appears to be working, i'm getting a reading at least for continuity. I also tested the connectors for the LCD and Digitizer, those are getting power.
  • I've zoomed in with my smartphone to get a close-up look of the fuse and board, there's nothing that is visually obvious. I posted a couple pictures I took below. If there's anything anyone sees or knows of something I should try, please let me know.