What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Installing your own apps, manually, on the iPad?

CuriousJay

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I searched the forums first, but since I'm new to jailbreaking/cracking iOS devices within the last two months or so I might have overlooked the right search terms.

Here is my situation. I have a jailbroken iPad. I have this really stubborn app that will not freaking sync to my iPad. It's a free application I downloaded through the iTunes Appstore. When I went to install it from the iPad itself it said I had to sync to iTunes. Fine. I downloaded it in iTunes, I synced it, it never appears on the actual iPad. Super annoying.

Here's the thing though. The app is just sitting in /Mobile Applications/ in my iTunes directory as a .IPA file. I know I can install third party .IPA files on my iPad because I've installed dozens of them. When I try to manually install the .IPA file from my /Mobile Applications/ directory onto my iPad however the installation fails (note: it says it installed successfully but the app is no where to be found).

What do I have to do to get the .IPA file that I downloaded legitimately from iTunes from my computer to the iPad since the sync process is failing?

Thanks guys!

f4780y

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Are you sure it's compatible? There are a handful of apps I have come across which will not run on iPad using the iPhone mode which is why you cannot install them...

OP
C

CuriousJay

iPF Noob
Reaction score
what is the app?

Two apps actually (I didn't notice the other one hadn't synced); Bang! The Official Video Game and BodyMedia FIT.