What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hi! I'm new to the iPaD

Amcjay

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I just got my iPad yesterday and while I am thrilled to a part of the iPad world I am having difficulties I hope the forum can assist with.

I usually sync my iPhone with my desktop but since it is getting old and I am travelling quite a bit I decided to switch to my laptop. But none of my contacts entered the iPad and none of my downloaded/purchased apps did either.

My laptop is supposedly identified as an "authorized computer" so what is the problem? How can I get my apps?

Thanks,
AMcJay

OUTL4W

iPF Novice
Reaction score
If I understand correctly...you may need to sync the ipad to old pc so all contacts and apps are transferred to ipad. Then hook ipad up to laptop and open itunes to sync and I believe then you'll be promtped to transfer apps/contacts from ipad onto laptop.

But if I'm wrong hopefully other member's will chime in....

Personally I use DiskAid for what itunes does but more. I can copy my voice mail/sms/contacts amongst others...

Ohhhhhh and welcome to the forums....

Last edited:
Reaction score
You will have to copy over your apps/contacts from the desktop to laptop, this part is not done automatically. When you authorize iTunes with your account, I means that iTunes is allowed to play/run any content bought with that account, but you still need to add the content manually.

As the previous poster suggested, could you redownload the apps, though depending on the amount of apps this may not be a readable solution. But you could also copy the apps folder from your desktop to the laptop and then I port that folder into iTunes.