What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Has anyone worn out their Home button?

jpp

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Has anyone worn out their Home button?

As I'm brand new to the iPad/Apple world, I was wondering if the Home button is the only way you can wake up the iPad with. Is it true that the magnetic cover also does, suggesting that a little magnet held in the right place would do the same thing?

David79

iPF Noob
Reaction score
If you press the sleep/power button it bring up the slider to unlock it, but really don't think anyone will be able to wear out their button, or at least I hope not lol

Tim SPRACKLEN

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Sliding the Mute switch or activating your Bluetooth keyboard will also wake up the iPad.

Tim

KaiHD

iPF Noob
Reaction score
It is possible. Well, at least it was when I had my iPhone- I had to press it really hard for it to work, and double-pressing doesn't always work. Problems started around a year in after I bought my iPhone. Not too sure about the iPad, but I figured it's possible since they seem to be similarly manufactured and assembled.

David79

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I hope not, ipad is only 8 months old, but my iphone 3gs is coming up on a year lol

jaymz77

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I bought my first iPhone (2G) right after launch, still own it. I have pressed the home button a million times and it still feels like new. I now have an iPad 2 and a 3GS, both have had no issues what so ever :)

OP
jpp

jpp

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Sliding the Mute switch or activating your Bluetooth keyboard will also wake up the iPad.

Tim
No, unfortunately my Zagg Bluetooth keyboard doesn't. But, sliding the Mute Switch does :).