What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Downgrade and JB possible? Or JB later?

Mjbz68

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi everyone! This is my first post on iPadpforums. I'm new to the iPad, in fact i just got mine yesterday, however im not new to the interface. I owned an iPhone for 4 years until recently and had jalbroken several of them over the years. When I JB the iPhone it was always a simple procedure that was usually I click like blackra1n. The current procedure for JB is in a beta stage so i don't want to do 4.2.1 JB until the bluetooth problem is fixed.

My question is, is it possible to downgrade my ipad from 4.2.1 to a version that has an easy and solid jailbreak? If so which version is that and which method should i use? If not, when is a solid JB coming out for 4.2.1?

Thanks so much for any help!

Tinman

iPF Noob
Reaction score
You won't be able to go down to 3.2.2 as Apple stopped signing that firmware some time ago... and if you just got your iPad you won't have its SHSH blobs stored for 3.2.2.

Finally, the current untethered jb requires SHSH blobs saved for 4.2 beta 3, which you also would not have.

So your only option is the tethered 4.2.1 jailbreak, which is not all that bad on an iPad. I used that for over a month with no issues.

Michael

OP
M

Mjbz68

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Thanks for your help guys. Seems to me like my best option currently is just to leave the iPad as is for now until a less buggy untethered JB is released for 4.2.1.

I guess I could JB tethered since the battery life on the iPad is so good. But I will probably just wait until they fix the bluetooth issues and release an official JB.