What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best payg sim for ipad and question

stevedb11

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I am hoping to get a iPad 2 with 3G, which I will mostly use at home using my wifi,as I am new to 3G sims, can anybody tell me if there is a payg sim which does not expire and I can top up when ever I am away from home,also do you have to top up your sim while connected to your wifi, or will a sim with no credit on it connect to 3G so you can top it up when away? Thanks.:)

THeCondor

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I bought my ipad2 in January and bought an ipad data sim with 3gb loaded on it at the same time- it cost about £19. Ive since found them for around £12 on a well known auction site. Mine are on 3 who seem to be the popular provider in the UK. The sim card doesn't expire, but the data usage does- the 3gb expires after 3 months, the 1gb after 1 month. You can top up directly from the ipad when on 3g - just switch the wifi off and connect to the provider. You cannot top up if connected by wifi. 3 has a mobile app and you can connect free to check your balance and to top up, even when you have nil balance left. It costs £10 for 1gb access for a further 30 days. However, if you want to save money you can buy a few data preloaded sims from the well known auction site and simply change them as your data expires - much cheaper to pay £12 for 3gb than £10 for 1gb! The sims remain valid even when the data expires though, so you can just top them up if its inconvenient or too fiddly to change them and put new ones in.

Robster2007

iPF Noob
Reaction score
One tip.

Three sell a 12Gb twelve month sim for £70.