What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A newbie question about Ipad app with technical challenges

htruong

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

i am currently working on a college assignment about writing a proposal for developing an note-taking app for ipad. I dont actually develop a real app but rather writing to convince the possibility of the idea. I am totally new to Ipad app development and wonder if there is any technical barriers that can stop those functions below from actually be implemented:

- importing ebook (pdf, ePub, ibooks) to take note on
- creating a network between the app clients so that a person can be an admin and enforce rules on others like internet restrictions, can't not run other app ( this is for teacher to use in class) // this is a new thing i bring to the table

I would really appreciate if some one can help me or provide me a direction to research on :)
thank you again for reading my post.

Last edited:

Tim SPRACKLEN

iPF Noob
Reaction score
There are several restrictions here...on app cannot enforce restrictions on another different app. But a single app can interact with another identical app on another iPad and could enforce restrictions on that app by means of inter-app communication. Or, if different apps were developed by the same Developer, then app (a) from that Developer (perhaps the teacher's app) could enforce restrictions on another app - the student's app - using inter-app communication. But one app cannot enforce restrictions on another (non-cooperating) app - say from another Developer. So, for this enforcement procedure to work, all the apps used in this environment would need to be developed by the same Developer.