Wit's end!

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by mentmorian, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. mentmorian
    Offline

    mentmorian iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello!
    I would be so grateful if someone could help.

    I have an iPhone, which backed up/sync'd fine until I launched my new iPad for the first time. Now neither my iPhone or iPad will back up, I tried letting my iPhone back up overnight and it got through less than an eighth of the backing up icon.

    I've tried 'reseting warnings' to not allow crash warnings back to apple. I've unticked all heavy apps (not many at all) and unticked all music and photos so nothing actually has to sync apart from notes. I've set it so both only sync manually.

    Each time I try and launch either, it says new software available, then it just tries to back up again and the same thing happens. Nothing. Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:confused:
  2. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    perform a restore.
  3. mentmorian
    Offline

    mentmorian iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    but doesn't that lose all my data?

    If I restore, doesn't that just wipe everything and I'm back to square 1?:confused:
  4. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    You have an old backup right? restore and use that. if not then restore as a new device.
  5. mentmorian
    Offline

    mentmorian iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm trying restore - it has just extracted software and now has gone to backing up iPhone box with that bloomin' green line just meandering across with nothing else happening!

Share This Page