Wireless A/N 5GHz Router connection

Discussion in 'iPad 3 Forum' started by Jduckip3, May 9, 2012.

  1. Jduckip3
    Offline

    Jduckip3 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have installed a new home router. It is a Netgear N600 Advanced Dual Band router. I can get the new iPad to connect to the G/N 2.4 GHz just fine. But, I can not get the iPad to join the 5GHz band. I have reset the Network Settings, tried running the band with no security etc. I called Apple, and they tried a couple things but it still will not connect. Has anyone connected the iPad 3 to a 5GHz wireless router? Did you by chance notice the channel that the connection used?

    Thanks for any help.
  2. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    Don't know the channel but mine works on my netgear 3700 dual band router. I tend to use the 2.4ghz band more, though.
  3. Jduckip3
    Offline

    Jduckip3 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hum, thank you. That is the model I have. Mine works fine on the 2.4, but I can't join the 5. Did you make any changes to the router for that band? I set the SSID, left the channel defaulted to 40, entered the Paraphrase. If you wouldn't mind sometime, would you check the security you selected, and what the default speed and channel that yours is set to.

    I appreciate your answer.
  4. HKey_Current_User
    Offline

    HKey_Current_User iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Is it possible to tell the iPad which band to connect to, or does it just connect to the best signal? I also have a dual band router (although not a Netgear), and have noticed that my iPad is connected to the 5 ghz band, while my wife's iPad connects to the 2.4 band.
  5. Jduckip3
    Offline

    Jduckip3 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When I select wifi in Settings, I show both SSIDs. I can select either one. It's strange, the 2.4 starts right up, I get "Unable to Join Network" when I select the 5.
  6. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    My 5GHz channel is 48. Mode is upto 300 kbps. Security is WPA2-PSK [AES] . I've been using it flawlessly for months and months. Nary a crash or anything.
  7. Mbspears
    Offline

    Mbspears iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S. Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Works fine for me too, although the iPad definitely prefers the 2.4Ghz signal -- by that, I mean it usually selects the 2.4Ghz signal as it has a stronger signal. Why are you set on using the 5Ghz band? You really won't notice the difference.
  8. Harley man
    Offline

    Harley man iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    just outside of philly pa USA
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    I have the same netgear router and use the 5.g all the time with out any problems on my iPad 3 the 5 is better for on line gaming

    from USA bucks county pa Sent from my iPad using iPF
  9. NoNoBadDog
    Offline

    NoNoBadDog iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pearl City, Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    I also have a Netgear WNDR3700, and I use the 5GHz band with no issues. I just gave it it's own unique SSID. Also use WPA2.

    Sent from my iPad 3rd Gen using ipf
  10. Jduckip3
    Offline

    Jduckip3 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Update: Well as it turns out, it was the iPad. I found an Airport to try to connect to, and could not connect to it as well on the 5ghz side. I went the Apple Store, and they verified the problem. They gave me a new unit, and it connected perfectly. Must have just been something a miss with the wireless hardware.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
2.4 to 5ghz changes on ipad
,
can ipad 3 support dual band wireless?
,

can ipad connect to 5ghz network

,
can my ipad use 5ghz wireless router
,

connect ipad to 5ghz wireless

,
connecting ipad to 5ghz wifi
,
how can i tell if ipad using 5 ghz
,

ipad 3 5ghz

,

ipad 3 cannot connect to wifi 5ghz

,

ipad 5ghz channel

,
ipad air not connect to 5ghz v=channel
,
ipad cannot join the asus aes router?
,
ipad on netgear or netgear 5g
,

ipad will connect to 5ghz but not 2.4 ghz

,

ipad wont connect to 5g

,
ipad3 work on 5g wireless
,
nighthawk wifi roter how can ipad2 connect to 5 ghz network
,
turn.on 5ghz ipad
,
will ipad connect to 5ghz wifi
,
wireless capabilities ipad 3 5ghz